Skip to main content
Main Content
 

Matthew K C CHEUNG, Secretary for Labour and WelfareIt has always been my personal philosophy to "enrich life through continuous learning". To encourage elders to lead an active and flourishing life, the Labour and Welfare Bureau and the Elderly Commission jointly launched a school-based Elder Academy Scheme taken into consideration of the unique situation of Hong Kong in early 2007.

Elder Academies are characterised by cross-sectoral collaboration and inter-generational harmony, and aim to promote continuous learning among elders, encourage them to widen their social networks, maintain physical and mental well-being and foster sense of worthiness while acquiring knowledge. These apart, it also seeks to promote inter-generational harmony, civic education and cross-sectoral collaboration. In the 2016-17 academic year, there are about 130 EAs in primary, secondary and tertiary institutions throughout the territory.

Compared to other elder learning models elsewhere, our elder academies put much emphasis on "inter-generational harmony". We encourage young students to participate in voluntary work for the elder academies, such as acting as young teachers or assisting in the operation of the elder academies. Through participating in elder academies, elders can learn new technology and knowledge to keep pace with the times while young students can get to know more about elders and learn from their valuable life experiences. More importantly, the Scheme can promote mutual understanding to achieve inter-generational harmony.

Elders are valuable assets to our society. Not only do we encourage them to keep abreast of the times through continuous learning and participate actively in society, we also hope that they can further engage in the work of the Elder Academy Management Committees and take up the administration and the planning of the curricula and activities of the elder academies to live up to the concept of "active ageing".

With the support of various tertiary institutions, a number of elder academies have been set up in tertiary institutions to offer elders the opportunities to "study in the university". I am looking forward to the operation of more elder academies in primary/secondary schools and tertiary institutions and the development of different forms of elder academies in other mass media to ensure a fulfilled and happy life for all elders.

Stephen SUI
Secretary for Labour and Welfare

跳至主要内容
主要内容
 

劳工及福利局局长张建宗「持续学习,丰富生命」,这一直是我个人的信念。为鼓励长者乐颐年、活出丰盛人生,劳工及福利局和安老事务委员会在二零零七年年初开创了一个以学校作平台且别具香港特色的「长者学苑」计划。

「长者学苑」是以跨界别合作和跨代共融的模式运作,目的是倡导长者持续学习、让长者在增进知识之余,扩阔社交圈子,保持身心健康,实践老有所为;同时促进长幼共融,加强公民教育,以及推动跨界别合作。在2016-17 学年,全港各区大专院校及中、小学共设立约130间长者学苑。

与其他地方推行的长者学习模式相比,本港的长者学苑尤其着重「跨代共融」。我们鼓励年青学生参与长者学苑的义务工作,例如担当小老师,或协助长者学苑的运作。透过长者学苑这个平台,长者可以学习新科技和新知识,与时并进;而年青学生亦可藉此机会与更多长者交流,分享长者丰富的人生经验,更重要的是可以促进彼此了解,达致耆青共融。

长者是社会的宝贵资产。我们不单要鼓励他们持续学习,紧贴时代步伐,积极参与社会事务,更希望他们进一步参与长者学苑管理委员会,负责学苑的行政工作,以至筹划课程和活动,实践「积极乐颐年」。

在各大专院校的支持下,目前有多间大专院校开办长者学苑,让长者有机会「上大学读书」。我期望有更多中、小学校和专上学院开办长者学苑,甚至在其他大众传媒上拓展不同模式的长者学苑,让所有长者的生活充实又开心。

劳工及福利局局长萧伟强